Jessica's Law Becomes Oregon Law
CRIME VICTIMS UNITED
Jessica's Law for Oregon was signed into law by Governor Kulongoski today. This law requires a 25 year mandatory minimum sentence for adults convicted of raping, sodomizing or sexually penetrating a child under 12 years of age.
The bill was passed last Thursday in a special session of the Oregon Legislature. The vote in the House was 54-6 and in the Senate it
The passage of the bill is the result of a tremendous effort from a lot of people, most notably from State Senator Bruce Starr and Crime Victims United President Steve Doell.
For more information see the Jessica's Law For Oregon web site.
Home | Top | Search